Healthy Granola Bars Recipe

Healthy Granola Bars Recipe

These granola bars are absolutely delicious and a healthy alternative to “granola bars” with a thousand unknown ingredients in them that you’ll find on the shelves in the store. My 4 year old has been begging me for another piece (I already gave her a second small helping today), they are THAT good! This is also a fun recipe to let the kiddos help with. My daughter enjoyed pouring every ingredient in and stirring, it’s fun when you can involve the kids with baking! Give it a try!

Ingredients:
2.5 Cups All Natural Whole Grain Quick Oats ( I used Mom’s Best Naturals)
1 tbsp chia seeds
1 tbsp ground flax seeds
1/2 cup toffee bits
1/3 cup organic honey
1/2 cup all natural peanut butter
1 tbsp skim milk
1/4 tsp baking soda
1 mashed banana

Notes: In place of toffee you can use chocolate chips, raisins, shredded coconut, craisins or whatever sweet option you prefer. I was going to put sunflower seeds into my bars today but I forgot about it. Other nut options: almond, walnuts, cashews, peanuts, etc

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350. Mix all dry ingredients together, then add in peanut butter, honey, milk and mashed banana and mix very well (if it’s still to dry then add a tad bit more honey in). Place parchment paper into a baking dish (I used a 13×9 glass pan) and spread the mixture evenly and press down it down to smooth it out. Bake 20-25 mins. Allow to cool completely before cutting. Store in fridge in an air tight container.

I hope you enjoy these as much as we did, leave me a comment after you’ve made them!!
~Kristy

Leave a Reply

