Fruit Coconut Cream Pie (Gluten Free & Healthy)

pizap.com13937004435831

 

I wanted a pie that wasn’t loaded with sugar and full of junk, I browsed recipes for a healthy crust but it came down to me not finding exactly what I wanted and I didn’t want to use artificial sweeteners or sugar in my recipe. SO, I threw all of this together in hopes that it would taste good and it was fantastic! I am learning through my baking and cooking adventures that honey replaces sugar very well and I don’t miss it at all or the nasty headache that comes from a sugar overload, yuck! Oh and almond flour is the next best thing- I don’t miss using regular flour either! Now on to the recipe….

Fruit Coconut Cream Pie (Gluten Free & Healthy)

Crust: 
2 cups almond flour
1/4 cup organic honey
6 tbsp butter
1 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tbsp pure vanilla extract
1 egg

Cream:
1 can coconut milk
4 oz cream cheese
1/2 tbsp put vanilla extract
Drizzle of honey or sweetener of choice, taste to test. 

Toppings: 
Desired fruits, I used 2 kiwis, 1 banana and a handful of strawberries.
Directions:
Preheat oven to 350°. Place all dry ingredients for the crust together, mix, then add in honey, butter, egg & vanilla stir well until dough forms. Place into baking dish bake 20-25 mins. 

Cream: Place coconut milk in fridge 24 hours prior so that it is solid, pour all ingredients into mixing bowl and whip. 

Allow to cool then pour cream over crust then top with top with desired fruit! Serve or store in fridge or freezer. 

**NOTES: Next time I make this I am going to try 6 tbsp Coconut Oil in place of the butter and see how that works out. If you try it this way please leave me a comment with how it turns out. 

#eatclean #fruit #pie #desserts #cleaneating #whole #glutenfree #weightloss#eatforyourhealth #fruitpie #healthyliving #healthyfood

One thought on “Fruit Coconut Cream Pie (Gluten Free & Healthy)

  1. Pingback: Fruit Coconut Cream Pie (Gluten Free & Healthy) | Pink Drink, DIY, Recipes & Healthy Living

Leave a Reply

